OHERC Beginning Teacher Award
In Respectful Memory of Dr. Jimmie Russell

Deadline: February 1

Award Given by Oklahoma Higher Education Reading Council (OHERC)


The Oklahoma Higher Education Reading Council is made up of literacy education faculty members from Oklahoma colleges and universities and others involved in the education of preservice literacy teachers. The purposes of OHERC include promoting mutual understanding and cooperative work among Oklahoma reading teacher educators, and disseminating knowledge helpful in the solution of problems related to reading instruction. We are a council of the Oklahoma Reading Association and the International Reading Association.

Award Criteria

This award will be given to a teacher in his/her first three years of teaching. Those characteristics that will be considered are the teacher’s:

  • focus on individual student’s literacy needs,
  • use of multiple forms of literacy assessment,
  • instruction that is related to assessment,
  • integration of literacy across the curriculum,
  • sense of purposeful enjoyment that permeates his/her work with children, and
  • commitment to the teaching profession

Award Honors

The honoree will receive a plaque and a $100 gift certificate for the purchase of books for his/her classroom. The award will be announced in the recipient’s local newspaper and will be given at the beginning of the next school year.

Dr. Jimmie Russell 1950-2002

Dr. Jimmie Russell was a professor of education at Oklahoma Baptist University (OBU) and was an active member of the Oklahoma Higher Education Reading Council. Her dedication to helping children was evident in her work with preservice teachers, her enthusiastic participation in professional organizations, and her everyday life. Dr. Pam Robinson, Teacher Education Division Chair at OBU, wrote, “ ’Hey, I have an idea!’ and ‘We can do....’ were two of Jimmie's key phrases and two of the many things I miss hearing from her. She was always coming up with ideas on how to better her classes or the teacher education program and they were always good ideas.”

The members of OHERC have chosen to honor Dr. Jimmie Russell by continuing her legacy of caring and advocating for children’s literacy development throughout the state of Oklahoma.

OHERC Beginning Teacher Award Nomination Form

Committee Chair
Vickie Hinkle
Mid-America Christian University
3500 S.W. 119th St.
Oklahoma City, OK 73170
405-692-3148 (W)

©Oklahoma Reading Association 2009-2019 | Contact the Webmaster  |

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software